School Logo

Yorkswood Primary School

Yorkswood is proud to be AICE

Get in touch

Early Years Foundation Stage

EYFS Curriculum


Children in Nursery and Reception follow the Early Years Foundation Stage Curriculum (EYFS). There are seven ‘areas of learning’: three prime areas and four specific areas.

The prime areas are important because they lay the foundations for children’s success in all other areas of learning and of life:

  • Personal, Social and Emotional Development
  • Physical Development
  • Communication and Language

The specific areas provide the range of experiences and opportunities for children to broaden their knowledge and skills:

  • Literacy
  • Mathematics
  • Understanding the World
  • Expressive Arts and Design


The document below has a wealth of ideas for supporting your child's learning across the curriculum.


The Early Learning Goals


During Reception year, children are assessed against the Early Learning Goals (ELGs). Reception teachers will talk with you, as the year progresses, about how your child is achieving in relation to the ELGs. At the end of the year you will receive a report about your child’s achievements against each of the ELGs.

Click the link below to view the Early Learning Goals.